X

Allgemein

Leading media agency for leaflets with new investor

06.2019: Bregal Unternehmerkapital acquires shares in MEDIA Central. The media agency specializing in dialogue, direct and trade marketing was founded in Mönchengladbach in 1997 and today employs around 200 people and is active in more than 20 countries. As an independent partner, MEDIA Central distributes advertising messages across all the media available today. As the market leader, MEDIA Central manages the distribution of more than nine billion advertising leaflets, image brochures and shopping coupons to German households each year. With high quality, as well as outstanding cost-effectiveness due to the large purchasing volume, the company convinces customers like EDEKA, Rossmann and McDonald’s for many years.

Interior outfitter of megayachts sold to French player

04.2019: A fund advised by AFINUM Management GmbH has exited Sinnex to French Groupe Mériguet, a leading provider of renovation services for high end private residences and historic buildings. Sinnex is a highly-specialized interior outfitting company serving the megayacht industry across Europe. The company also builds high end interior for private residences and aircraft. AFINUM acquired the majority of the company from the founders in 2010 and organized their succession. The company more than doubled its total output in recent years. Today, Sinnex belongs to the top group of general contractors in this industry. Within Groupe Mériguet, Sinnex shall leverage on its competencies and contribute to the residential projects of Mériguet. For this purpose, Sinnex runs a factory in Griffen/Austria and engages a broad subcontractor network particularly in Southeast Europe.

Maker of lorry semitrailers finds investor

03.2019: In order to support further expansion of the business, a fund of Steadfast Capital has acquired a stake in Kempf Group (KEMPF) in February 2019. The transaction comprises Kempf Holding, based in Bad Marienberg (Western Germany) with a further production plant in Kowary, Poland), and Kempf Reparatur, based in Nisterau (Western Germany).

KEMPF is a leading manufacturer of customised lorry semi-trailers with tilt mechanisms. Kempf trailers are used for special applications in the areas of construction, agriculture and special logistics and are known in the market for their quality. Steadfast Capital’s acquisition represents the next step in KEMPF’s corporate succession as part of which the next generation of the family has taken a leading role as a manager and shareholder of the company. Together with KEMPF’s management Steadfast Capital will support the firm’s international expansion as well as the ongoing strategic development of the company and its workforce.

School outfitter realizes succession solution

02.2019: Financial investor Halder has completed an MBO of Conen Group (Morbach/Germany). The investment provides a succession solution for the founder’s family which had established the company in 1965.

Conen specializes in outfitting educational institutions like schools and nursery schools in Western Europe, the Middle East and the US. Technical products for interactive learning form an important segment of its business, e. g. height-adjustable display mounts which are increasingly used for teaching. In addition, the company offers a broad range of furniture products for school and pre-school facilities in its German core market and neighbouring countries, sold to more than 1,000 longterm clients.

With inhouse product development and manufacturing, Conen has a deep value chain. In addition, it provides high product availability and customization. Internal logistics cover fast delivery and on-site installation in Germany and cross-border. In 2018, the company achieved € 37 million in turnover and had a staff of 225.

Conen’s international business perspective is driven by an increasing digitalization of global education, resulting in double-digit growth rates for interactive displays. The company plans for closer co-operation with display manufacturers in the US und the Middle East. As government spending for Germany’s pre-school and school sectors is set to increase significantly over the next years, the home market also provides a favorable outlook.

Engie acquires provider of ventilation, ac and cooling tec

02.2019: Funds advised by Equistone Partners Europe („Equistone“) have agreed the sale of a majority stake in OTTO Luft- und Klimatechnik GmbH & Co. KG („OTTO“) to Engie Deutschland GmbH („Engie“), one of the leading companies for technical building services, facilities management, industrial refrigeration technology and energy services in Germany. OTTO, a leading specialist provider of ventilation and air-conditioning solutions, cooling technology and building automation, was acquired in May 2014 by Equistone. The financial terms of the transaction are undisclosed and completion of the sale remains subject to the approval of the relevant competition authorities.

OTTO was founded in 1967 and has established itself as the market leader in Germany in its space. In addition to its headquarters in Bad Berleburg, North Rhine-Westphalia, the company operates a further 11 locations across Germany. OTTO furnishes shopping centres, hospitals, office buildings, industrial production lines and pharmaceutical laboratories with its ventilation and air-conditioning systems and technical solutions and services clients from industry, trade, commerce and the public sector. Alongside design and implementation, OTTO’s service portfolio also comprises customised services as well as upkeep and installation. As of 2018, the company generates annual revenues of approximately €120 million and employs 700 people, including a high proportion of technical and assembly staff.

Equistone acquired its majority shareholding in the family-owned business in 2014, with Hartmut Otto Jr. remaining invested in the business as son of the founder. As a reliable partner with access to capital, Equistone worked with management to successfully extend the company’s growth trajectory during its investment period. The business strengthened its presence through the opening of multiple new locations in Germany. In addition, OTTO achieved convincing organic growth, increasing revenues and output by more than 50% and doubling employee count in a technical skills-based market, whilst still retaining the Mittelstand company culture characterised by responsibility to and trust between colleagues and customers.

IT security specialist sold to Harald Quandt Holding

01.2019: Harald Quandt Industriebeteiligungen GmbH has completed the acquisition of a majority stake in procilon GROUP (“procilon”). procilon offers its customers comprehensive software solutions for the secure digital communication, identification, and storage of sensitive information. Proprietary cryptographic software applications thereby form the core of procilon’s portfolio.

Founded in 2001 and headquartered in Leipzig with subsidiaries in Berlin and Dortmund, procilon GROUP advises its clients on all matters relating to information security and data protection. The company is a leading full-service provider of cryptographic software and offers a modular product portfolio for the secure digital communication, identification and storage of data. More than 1,400 companies, organisations and authorities currently trust the solutions of
procilon as a reliable provider of ‘IT security made in Germany’ that meets the highest certified security standards. For more information: www.procilon.de.

Maker of high-pressure water jetting systems sold

01.2019: Investor Lampe Privatinvest has sold von Oertzen GmbH (Germany), a leading solution provider of high-pressure water jetting systems for industrial customers, to Hako (Germany), a subsidiary of the Possehl Group. With an annual turnover of more than 430 million euros and around 2,000 employees worldwide, Hako GmbH from Bad Oldesloe is one of the world’s leading groups of companies in cleaning and municipal technology and the management company of the corresponding division of the Possehl Group. This globally active group is based in Lübeck and diversified with currently nine independent, decentral organized business units. With more than 180 subsidiaries in over 30 countries, the Possehl Group achieved sales of 3.8 billion euros in 2017.

von Oertzen GmbH offers a broad product portfolio tailored to the individual requirements of its customers, which includes high-pressure cleaners, equipment for high-pressure fire extinguishing technology and special solutions for the cleaning of machines, assembly lines and containers in potentially explosive atmospheres. Most recently, the company from Ammersbek (Schleswig-Holstein), which was founded over 60 years ago, achieved annual sales of around EUR 11 million with 65 employees. The company is to remain independent within the Hako Group as a specialist supplier.

LED flashlights and headlamps maker sold

12.2018: Investors AFINUM an INVISION acquire a majority stake in Ledlenser GmbH & Co. KG, Germany, a leading manufacturer of LED flashlights and headlamps. Headquartered in Solingen/Germany and with a production site in Yanjiang (China), Ledlenser (www.ledlenser.com) counts among the worldwide leading manufacturers of high-quality flashlights and headlamps for professional, outdoor and everyday applications. The company was founded in 1994 and is known as the inventor of the LED flashlight. Products are characterized by a high level of innovation, superior quality and an appealing design. The company’s extensive know-how is secured by a strong research and development department and over 100 patents. Among others, end customers include corporates, public organizations – such as police or fire fighters – as well as outdoor enthusiasts. The company holds a strong market position in numerous countries throughout Europe and Asia. Together with the management team, AFINUM and INVISION plan to further drive the internationalization of the company in course of the next years. Moreover, by continuous product innovations, new customers shall be acquired across the different end markets.

Automation solutions provider sold to strategic partner

11.2018: As part of a succession plan, VESCON Automation Group GmbH, majority owned by Quadriga Capital, acquires a majority stake in the Lower Bavarian Schiller Group. The company provides innovative automation solutions for the automotive and semiconductor industries and employs around 200 people. The company founder, Ewald Schiller, will remain with the company as managing director and shareholder.

Together with the VESCON Group, an engineering service provider and plant manufacturer headquartered in Frankenthal near Mannheim, Schiller will in future operate under the umbrella of VESCON-Automation Holding and form a group of companies with more than 700 employees and a turnover of more than 100 million Euros. Quadriga Capital, the majority shareholder of VESCON Automation Holding, will bring further growth capital and extensive expertise in the industrial automation market to the Group.

The Schiller Group, based in Osterhofen near Deggendorf, is one of the leading suppliers of automation solutions in the field of intralogistics and assembly. Due to the core competencies in the areas of electronics and software as well as complementary mechanics, the range of services covers all necessary areas for the realization of complex system solutions as well as intelligent products. Schiller’s customers include German premium manufacturers in the automotive and supplier industries as well as well-known companies in the semiconductor industry.

The transaction is still subject to antitrust approval.

Ventilation systems company finds investor to grow

09.2018: A fund, advised by AFINUM Management GmbH, participates as part of a proprietary transaction at Ventomaxx GmbH. The founder Hans Schorsch and his sons Philipp and Florian Schorsch remain involved. Together with AFINUM, the Schorsch family wants to expand their successful business model at home and abroad.

Ventomaxx (www.ventomaxx.de) is a supplier of mainly decentralized ventilation systems with state-of-the-art technology and the highest architectural standards. The modular design and flexible application options make Ventomaxx a preferred partner for architects and technical planners, especially for larger projects that require individualized concepts. Over the past fifteen years, the Landshut-based company has developed from a commercial agency into a supplier of its own decentralized ventilation solutions, which are particularly well suited to modern building requirements such as compact design, heat recovery, sound insulation and air filtration. Ventomaxx can look back on above-average growth, which is explained by its excellent reputation with architects and technical planners. Founder Hans Schorsch, who remains involved in the company, has chosen AFINUM as a financially strong, strategic growth partner. The common growth strategy sees u. a. a broadening of the Ventomaxx organization in Germany and abroad as well as inorganic growth through acquisitions.

Centum Capital initiated this transaction in 2018.

X

Allgemein

Marktführer für Werbeprospekte nimmt Investor auf

06.2019: Bregal Unternehmerkapital beteiligt sich an der MEDIA Central. Die auf Dialog-, Direkt- und Handelsmarketing spezialisierte Mediaagentur wurde 1997 in Mönchengladbach gegründet, beschäftigt heute rund 200 Mitarbeiter und ist in mehr als 20 Ländern aktiv. Als unabhängiger Partner verbreitet MEDIA Central Werbebotschaften über alle heute verfügbaren Medien. Als Marktführer steuert MEDIA Central die Verteilung von mehr als neun Milliarden Werbeprospekten, Imagebroschüren und Einkaufscoupons an deutsche Privathaushalte pro Jahr. Mit hoher Qualität, sowie herausragender Wirtschaftlichkeit aufgrund des großen Einkaufsvolumens, überzeugt das Unternehmen Kunden wie EDEKA, Rossmann und McDonald’s seit vielen Jahren.

 

Innenausbauer von Luxusyachten verkauft

04.2019: Ein Fonds der AFINUM Management GmbH hat die Beteiligung an der Sinnex-Gruppe an die französische Groupe Mériguet, einen führenden Anbieter von Renovierungs-dienstleistungen für hochwertige Immobilien und Luxusobjekte, veräußert. Sinnex (www.sinnex.com) ist ein auf den höchstwertigen Innenausbau von Luxusyachten, privaten Residenzen sowie Privatflugzeugen spezialisiertes Unternehmen. Der Schwerpunkt des Geschäftes liegt im Bereich Luxusyachten für private Eigner, speziell von Super-Luxusyachten mit einer Länge von mehr als 40 Metern. AFINUM hatte im April 2010 die Mehrheit der Anteile von den Gründern übernommen und in der Zeit danach deren unternehmerische Nachfolge geregelt. Während der Halteperiode konnte die Leistung des Unternehmens mehr als verdoppelt werden und heute gehört Sinnex zu den Top-Anbietern in diesem Segment. Innerhalb der Mériguet-Gruppe soll Sinnex zukünftig seine fachlichen Kompetenzen auch in Projekte außerhalb der angestammten Bereiche, insbesondere im Residenzbereich, einbringen. Sinnex betreibt für Produktionszwecke ein Werk in Griffen/Österreich und verfügt über ein leistungsfähiges Netzwerk von Zuliefererbetrieben, insb. in Südosteuropa.

Nachfolgeregelung für Hersteller von LKW-Aufliegern

03.2019:  Mit dem Ziel, das weitere Wachstum der Unternehmensgruppe zu unterstützen, hat sich der Fonds der Steadfast Capital an der Kempf Gruppe beteiligt.

Kempf ist ein führender Hersteller von kundenspezifischen LKW-Aufliegern und Aufbauten mit Abkippmechanismus. Kempf Anhänger werden für spezielle Anwendungen in den Bereichen Bauwesen, Landwirtschaft und Speziallogistik eingesetzt und sind auf dem Markt für ihre Qualität bekannt. Das Unternehmen unterstützt seine Kunden mit maßgeschneiderten Lösungen für verschiedene Transportanforderungen, wie zum Beispiel Muldenkipper und Anhänger, Kippauflieger, Getränkesattelauflieger, Schubbodensysteme sowie eine Vielzahl von Spezialfahrzeugen.

Mit der Beteiligung von Steadfast Capital hat die nächste Generation aus der Familie eine führende Rolle als Manager und Gesellschafter übernommen, womit Kempf einen weiteren Schritt in der Unternehmensnachfolge erfolgreich umgesetzt hat. Zusammen mit dem Management von Kempf wird Steadfast Capital den internationalen Ausbau der Gruppe vorantreiben und die Weiterentwicklung der Unternehmensstruktur personell und strategisch unterstützen. Die Transaktion schließt sowohl die Kempf Holding in Bad Marienberg (Rheinland-Pfalz) mit einer Produktionsstätte in Kowary, Polen), als auch die Kempf Fahrzeug Reparatur-GmbH in Nisterau (Rheinland-Pfalz) ein.

Schulausstatter Conen findet Nachfolgelösung

02.2019: Die Investorengruppe Halder hat durch einen Management Buy-Out die Mehrheit an der Conen-Gruppe, Morbach, erworben. Die Beteiligung ist eine Nachfolgelösung für die Inhaberfamilie, die das Unternehmen 1965 gegründet hatte.
Conen ist auf die Ausstattung von Bildungseinrichtungen wie Schulen, Kindergärten und Kindertagestätten in Westeuropa, dem Mittleren Osten und den USA spezialisiert. Ein Schwerpunkt des Geschäfts sind technische Produkte für interaktives Lernen, z. B. elektrisch verstellbare Halterungen für elektronische Displays, die international zunehmend als Lernmittel eingesetzt werden. Dazu kommt ein breites Möbelprogramm für Schule und Vorschule im Kernmarkt Deutschland und den Nachbarländern, mit dem Conen über 1.000 langjährige Abnehmer bedient.
Durch eigene Produktentwicklung und -herstellung realisiert Conen hohe Fertigungstiefe, Verfügbarkeit und Flexibilität bei der Umsetzung von Kundenwünschen. Die Auslieferung und Installation mit eigener Logistik in Deutschland und den Nachbarländern sichert kurze Lieferzeiten und hohe Endqualität. 2018 beschäftigte das Unternehmen 225 Mitarbeiter und erzielte einen Umsatz von 37 Mio. €.
Wachstumspotenzial entsteht aus der zunehmenden Digitalisierung der Bildungssysteme, die international zweistellige Zuwachsraten bei interaktiven Displays ausgelöst hat. Conen plant daher, die Zusammenarbeit mit Monitorherstellern in den USA und im Mittleren Osten auszubauen. Auch in Deutschland bestehen günstige Rahmenbedingungen, da mittelfristig hohe staatliche Mehrausgaben für Vorschule und Schule vorgesehen sind.

Luft,- Klima-, Kältetechnik-Spezialist an Engie verkauft

02.2019: Der Finanzinvestor EQUISTONE hat seine Mehrheitsanteile an der OTTO Luft- und Klimatechnik GmbH und Co. KG („OTTO“), einem Spezialunternehmen für Luft,- Klima- und Kältetechnik sowie Gebäudeautomation und Reinraum-Systeme, abgegeben. Käufer ist die Engie Gruppe, ein in Europa führendes Unternehmen für Technische Gebäudeausrüstung, Facility Services, industrielle Kältetechnik und Energiedienstleistungen.

OTTO zählt zu den Marktführern für Luft- und Klimatechnik im privaten und industriellen Bereich in Deutschland. Das Leistungsspektrum von OTTO umfasst neben der Planung und Umsetzung von Anlagen zusätzlich maßgeschneiderte Services wie Montage und Wartung. Mit seinen technischen Lösungen und Systeminstallationen rüstet das Unternehmen Einkaufszentren, Krankenhäuser, Bürogebäude, industrielle Produktionslinien sowie Pharmalabore aus. Die Kunden kommen aus Industrie, Gewerbe, Handel und öffentlicher Hand. Heute unterhält OTTO neben dem Hauptsitz in Bad Berleburg zehn Standorte im Bundesgebiet sowie eine Tochtergesellschaft in Polen.

IT-Sicherheitsanbieter wächst mit Harald Quandt Holding

01.2019: Die Harald Quandt Industriebeteiligungen hat die Mehrheit an der procilon GROUP erworben. Das Unternehmen bietet seinen Kunden vollumfängliche Softwarelösungen für die sichere digitale Kommunikation, Identifikation und Aufbewahrung von vertraulichen Informationen. Kern des Angebots bilden dabei die selbstentwickelten kryptologischen Software-Applikationen.

Hersteller von Hochdruckreinigern verkauft

01.2019: Die Possehl-Tochter Hako hat die von Oertzen GmbH, einen führenden Lösungsanbieter von Hochdruckwasserstrahlsystemen für Industrie-Kunden, gekauft. Die von Oertzen GmbH bietet ein breites, auf die individuellen Anforderungen der Kunden zugeschnittenes Produktportfolio, welches Hochdruckreiniger, Geräte für die Hochdruck-Löschtechnik sowie Sonderlösungen für die Reinigung von Maschinen, Montagebändern und Behältern in explosionsgefährdeten Bereichen umfasst. Zuletzt erzielte das Unternehmen mit 65 Mitarbeitern einen Umsatz von rund 11 Millionen Euro.

LED-Taschenlampenhersteller findet Investor

12.2018: Die Beteiligungsgesellschaften AFINUM und INVISION beteiligen sich mehrheitlich an Ledlenser, einem führenden Hersteller von LED Taschen- und Stirnlampen. Die Ledlenser GmbH & Co. KG mit Sitz in Solingen und Produktionsstandort in Yanjiang (China) ist einer der weltweit führenden Hersteller qualitativ hochwertiger LED Taschen- und Stirnlampen für professionelle, Outdoor- und Alltags-Anwendungen. Das Unternehmen wurde 1994 gegründet und gilt als Erfinder der LED Taschenlampe. Die Produkte zeichnen sich durch ein hohes Maß an Innovation, durch herausragende Qualität und durch ein ansprechendes Design aus. Das umfassende Know-How sichert das Unternehmen mit einer starken Forschungs- und Entwicklungsabteilung sowie mit mehr als 100 Patenten ab. Zu den Endkunden zählen unter anderem Industrieunternehmen, öffentliche Organisationen – wie etwa Polizei oder Feuerwehr – sowie Outdoor-Enthusiasten. Das Unternehmen hält eine starke Marktposition in zahlreichen Ländern in Europa und in Asien. Gemeinsam mit dem Management Team planen AFINUM und INVISION, in den kommenden Jahren die Internationalisierung voranzutreiben. Ebenso sollen durch kontinuierliche Produktinnovationen weitere Kunden in den verschiedenen Endmärkten gewonnen werden.

Spezialist für Automation an Strategen verkauft

11.2018: Im Zuge einer Nachfolgeregelung übernimmt die VESCON Automation Group GmbH, mehrheitlich im Besitz von Quadriga Capital, die Mehrheit an der Schiller-Gruppe. Schiller ist Anbieter von innovativen Automatisierungslösungen für die Automobil- und Halbleiterindustrie und beschäftigt rund 200 Mitarbeiter. Der Unternehmensgründer, Ewald Schiller, wird dem Unternehmen weiter als Geschäftsführer und Gesellschafter erhalten bleiben.

Gemeinsam mit der VESCON-Gruppe, Ingenieurdienstleister und Anlagenbauer, wird Schiller künftig unter dem Dach der VESCON-Automation Holding agieren und einen Unternehmensverbund mit über 700 Mitarbeitern und mehr als 100 Millionen Euro Umsatz bilden. Quadriga Capital als Mehrheitseigentümer der VESCON Automation Holding wird neben weiterem Wachstumskapital auch umfangreiche Expertise im Markt für Industrieautomation in die Gruppe einbringen.

Die Schiller-Gruppe mit Sitz in Osterhofen bei Deggendorf ist einer der führenden Anbieter von Automatisierungslösungen im Bereich Intralogistik und Montage. Durch die Kernkompetenzen in den Bereichen Elektronik und Software sowie der komplementären Mechanik umfasst das Leistungsspektrum alle notwendigen Bereiche zur Realisierung komplexer Systemlösungen sowie intelligenter Produkte. Zu Schillers Kundenkreis zählen neben deutschen Premiumherstellern der Automobil- und Zulieferer-Industrie auch namhafte Unternehmen der Halbleiterindustrie.

Die Transaktion steht noch unter dem Vorbehalt der kartellrechtlichen Genehmigung.

Lüftungssystemehersteller findet Partner für Wachstum

09.2018: Ein Fonds, beraten von AFINUM Management GmbH, beteiligt sich im Rahmen einer proprietären Transaktion an der Ventomaxx GmbH. Der Gründer Hans Schorsch und seine Söhne Philipp und Florian Schorsch bleiben beteiligt. Gemeinsam mit AFINUM möchte die Familie Schorsch das erfolgreiche Geschäftsmodell im In- und Ausland weiter ausbauen.

Ventomaxx (www.ventomaxx.de) ist ein Anbieter von vorwiegend dezentralen Lüftungssystemen mit modernster Technik und höchsten architektonischen Ansprüchen. Der modulare Aufbau sowie die flexiblen Einsatzmöglichkeiten machen Ventomaxx zu einem bevorzugten Partner für Architekten und technische Planer, insbesondere bei größeren Projekten, die individuelle Konzepte erfordern. In den letzten fünfzehn Jahren hat sich das Unternehmen mit Sitz in Landshut von einer Handelsvertretung zu einem Anbieter eigener dezentraler Lüftungslösungen entwickelt, die in besonderem Maße moderne bauliche Anforderungen wie kompaktes Design, Wärmerückgewinnung, Schallschutz und Luftfilterung erfüllen. Ventomaxx kann auf ein überdurchschnittliches Wachstum zurückblicken, welches sich durch den ausgezeichneten Ruf bei Architekten und technischen Planern erklärt. Der Gründer Hans Schorsch, der weiterhin am Unternehmen beteiligt bleibt, hat sich mit AFINUM für einen finanzstarken, strategischen Wachstumspartner entschieden. Die gemeinsame Wachstumsstrategie sieht u. a. eine Verbreiterung der Ventomaxx-Organisation im In- und Ausland sowie anorganisches Wachstum durch Zukäufe vor.

Centum Capital hat diese Transaktion in 2018 initiiert.